Press Release: Sunrider: Mask of Arcadius Released on Steam

Press Release: Love in Space and Sekai Project are pleased to announce the release of Sunrider: Mask of Arcadius on Steam.

Sunrider is a free tactical RPG/visual novel originally funded on Kickstarter. After successfully raising over $40 000 on Kickstarter, Love in Space has released the first two chapters of the Sunrider trilogy for free. The first chapter, Sunrider: First Arrival, arrived on Steam in July 2014 after a publishing agreement between Sekai Project and Love in Space. The second chapter, Mask of Arcadius, was once again published by Sekai Project on Steam on October 1, 2014.

Since release, the Sunrider series has moved over 120 000 units on Steam and holds a “very positive” user rating, with 93% of 684 user reviews giving the game a thumbs up. Sunrider provides users with an intricate hex based battle system which offers limitless strategies as well as a galaxy spanning war epic story.

Players assume the role of Captain Kayto Shields of the star ship Sunrider. After his home world is ruthlessly conquered by the space empire, “PACT,” he must travel across the galaxy to find allies to retake his home. Throughout his adventures, he will recruit mecha pilots and star ship captains who the player can control in challenging hex based battles. Players are further confronted with moral decisions throughout the story. With no choice being good or evil, players are forced to think what can be sacrificed to win the war.

With the success of Sunrider, Love in Space and Sekai Project plan to bring more games from the Sunrider universe to Steam. Please stay tuned for further announcements about where Sunrider will go in the future.

maskofarcadius

alliancefleet_legion3 screenshot0132 ava_classroom screenshot0119

12 thoughts on “Press Release: Sunrider: Mask of Arcadius Released on Steam

  1. I think i am speaking for the community here, we would be grateful for any more games set in this universe. Furthermore i think that a lot of us would be willing to pay for them if it increased the already amazing games quality. As Always keep up the amazing work Samu-Kun and the rest of your team!

  2. Samu-kun and everyone else involved in Sunrider, I just want to thank you for making this awesome project a reality. I know you wanted to do it for a long time, and I can only imagine how amazing it must feel for you to see all your hard work pay off. I liked Homeward (though I find Sora’s route to be like ten times better than Haruka’s and Nonami’s combined, but imouto’s are the best by default so I guess it’s not too surprising :P) but First Arrival truly blew me away. Story, world-building, characters, gameplay… It’s all so very polished, and I can’t wait to play Mask of Arcadius when you release the torrent build! Congrats!

  3. This might be a dumb question but I gotta ask, does Mask of Arcadius continue from where First Arrival ends or it encompasses everything from First Arrival whereby it adds further story content progression and mechanics? I haven’t started First Arrival and I’m currently downloading this new release via the torrent so I want to know whether I’ll need both copies or I’ll just have to keep the one I’m downloading. Congratulations on the new release by the way, tried out the game (First Arrival) and I love it, aiming to play the trilogy in one go so that’s why I’m holding off on playing it.

  4. You guys have made a great game but the game went from 0 to 100 too quickly.

    By that I mean this being my first play-through I got caught completely off guard by how important Flak was. I was playing it on hard and by the the fifth try on the level with the new assault cruisers it became apparent to me that it was impossible to win with my current configuration.

    It was either a fire-sale to buy Flak or a drop in difficulty.

    Ultimately it’s probably my fault for starting the game out on hard but up to that point it was really fun and challenging. That stopped being the case under the hails of missiles.

    I’m not saying adjust the difficulty but there should be more cues to the importance of missile defense which up to that point wasn’t such a big deal.

Leave a Reply

